White Privilege

White privilege is a term coined by Peggy Mclntosh. Mclntosh describes white privilege as “an unearned package of unearned assets that I can count on cashing in each day, but about which I was ‘meant’ to remain oblivious”. Mclntosh mentions how people in charge like managers or employers are white. I found that interesting because when I look back at every boss, manager ect.. They were all white and non were minority even though I have had three jobs in different places.

Mclntosh’s first example on her list of privileges was “I can if I wish arrange to be in the company of people of my race most of the time.” When that does seem obvious since they are the majority of the population and doesn’t seem like a privilege. Her fourth example ” I can go shopping alone most of the time, pretty well assured that I will not be followed or harassed.” doesn’t seem that relevant to me either. I will go into stores in a winter coat because of the cold and I will be carefully watched and followed around. There was one instance at Wal-Mart where I bought a carton of eggs for my mom so she could make dinner. I walked out with no bag and a reset. Right a way the greeter came up to me angry asking if I stole the eggs and  if I was going to go throw them at stuff. So I think age also plays a large part in the discrimination privileges that could be called old privilege.

Image by: https://goodblacknews.org/2016/07/14/editorial-what-i-said-when-my-white-friend-asked-for-my-black-opinion-on-white-privilege/

Leave a comment